If you create a review and the reviewer submits the changelist, then the original shelved changelist should be removed. It is just clutter and leads to confusion about what was done. Seems to be the users job to do it currently - which shouldn't be the case.
A few possible checks need to be made, e.g. original shelved changelist is untouched, and doesn't have andy pending files (just shelved ones).