Share, Vote, & Discuss Ideas

We're constantly looking for new ways to improve our products and are asking you to help us by sharing your own ideas, voting for ideas you like, and discussing them with the rest of the community.

Make backing out an integration work properly

Currently, backing out an integration does not un-mark the source revisions as integrated in the destination.  This means that any future attempt to integrate those revisions must be forced, with all of the attendant risk that entails; there is currently no way to actually "undo" an integration, such that P4 will behave as though it never happened.  This has caused repeated problems at my company.

A "Back out" or "Revert" of an integration should cause the previously integrated source revisions to be considered "non-integrated" with respect to any target revisions on or after the BackOut/Revert revision.

It seems like this will require at least one "deep" change to the P4 revision data model, to allow a revision to specify that it "un-integrates" content from a previously integrated source.  The "Revision Graph" tool will need some way to denote this (perhaps a hollow arrowhead in a new color?)

  • Scott Colcord
  • Mar 23 2017
  • Attach files